Relationships & Governance

Smokefree Nurses Aotearoa/New Zealand is conscious that it must work within a specific remit and be measured and governed on that remit.


We have a Steering Committee that has responsibility for governance and this consists of:




Mary Carthew

Associate Director of Nursing: Primary Health Care, Manaia PHO

Penny Thompson

Smokefree Programme Manager, Hawkes Bay DHB

Evelyn Hikuroa

Nursing Lecturer, Manukau Institute of Technology

Loma-Linda Tasi

Nurse Lecturer, Whitireia Community College. Member of SPAN

Sue Stevenson

Canterbury DHB, Hospital Smokefree Coordinator

Karen Stevens

Auckland DHB, Smokefree Manager

Smokefree Nurses also has a panel of advisors to whom they can address issues which require specific advice or support and these are:

  • Jan Pearson, Cancer Society

  • Mark Wallace-Bell, Health Sciences Centre, University of Canterbury

  • Pauline Allan-Downs, Northland DHB

An Advisory and Leadership Group comprised of all the National Nursing Associations meets as required to discuss progress and debate issues.  This Group has representatives from:

NZ Nurses Organisation

New Zealand Nurses Organisation (NZNO)

Te Runanga

Te Runanga

Pacific Nursing

Pacific Nursing Section

NZ Occupational Health Nurses

New Zealand Occupational Health Nurses’ Association

Nurse Educators in the Tertiary Sector

Nurse Education in the Tertiary Sector (NETS)

Nurses Executive of NZ

Nurse Executives of New Zealand


Te Ao Maramatanga

Te Ao Māramatanga (NZ College of Mental Health Nurses)

Nurse Practitioners Advisory 

Nurse Practitioners of New Zealand

College of Nurses

College of Nurses

Te Kaunihera

Te Kaunihera O Nga Neehi Māori O Aotearoa (National Council of Māori Nurses)


Wharangi Ruamano (Māori Nurse Educators Network)

Back to Top

About our company
Enter a succinct description of your company here
Contact Us
Enter your company contact details here